

Newaygo County Area Promise Zone Authority Board Meeting Tuesday, November 10, 2020 Meeting Held Virtually

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

Present: Lori Tubbergen Clark (chairperson), Jack Hendon, Dawn Anderson, Carla Roberts, Tim Rossler, Scott Rumsey, Scott Swinehart, Don VanSingel, Becky Tuuk, Steve Witter, Cathy Obits

Absent: Holly Moon

Visitors: Melissa Miller, Jody Zerlaut, Loretta Towne, Elizabeth Mansfield, Kathy Pope, Sarah Dixon, Emily Truax (Recorder)

Chairperson Dr. Lori Tubbergen Clark called the meeting to order at 11:38 a.m.

Motion by Witter, supported by Hendon, to approve the agenda. Roll Call Vote: Ayes – Tubbergen Clark, Hendon, Anderson, Swinehart, Rossler, Rumsey, Tuuk, VanSingel, Witter; Nays – None. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion by VanSingel, supported by Tuuk, to approve the August 11, 2020 Quarterly Board Minutes. Roll Call Vote: Ayes –Hendon, Anderson, Swinehart, Rossler, Rumsey, Tuuk, VanSingel, Witter, Tubbergen Clark; Nays – None. Motion unanimously carried.

Public Participation:

Dr. Tubbergen Clark opened the floor for public comment. There were no comments.

Dr. Witter presented the following report on behalf of the Fundraising Subcommittee:

- The NCAPZ received a gift in the amount of \$10,000 from the Gerber Foundation, and a \$5,000 grant from the Great Lakes Energy Support. Dr. Witter extended his appreciation to both organizations and thanked Mrs. Miller and Holly Moon for their diligent fundraising work.
- Office staff are currently working on the annual appeal letter, and a draft has been circulated for edits. A separate letter will be sent to parents of current Promise Zone Scholars which will have a targeted message. December 1 is giving Tuesday and communication is primarily pushed through social media.
- The public schools and county administration employees have donated \$15,833 this year, which is a decrease from the \$17,023 collected the prior year. The NCAPZ is grateful for these contributions.
- Holly Moon has agreed to chair the Fundraising Subcommittee after Dr. Witter's term expires. Dr. Witter shared some of Holly and Scott Swinehart's actions and expressed that the Fundraising team could not be in better hands with Mrs. Moon's future leadership. He added that it was an honor to serve with the board.

Chairperson Tubbergen Clark thanked Dr. Witter for his service and shared that he was among the first to be appointed and accepted the appointment without hesitation. He gave his passion to every one of the students and embraced the challenge. Dr. Witter's work as Fundraising Chair was a heavy lift, but the result allowed many students to realize their potential. Tubbergen Clark added that Dr. Witter's contribution has made a difference for this generation and the generation to come.

Mrs. Anderson and Mrs. Miller presented the following report on behalf of the Marketing and Communications Subcommittee:

- Our K-12 awareness campaign among K-5 students has been on pause due to the COVID-19 pandemic, however work on the 5th grade lesson planning continues.
- Mrs. Anderson welcomed Mrs. Miller as interim chair of the Marketing and Communications Subcommittee. Mrs. Miller shared her appreciation and gratitude for Mrs. Moon and Mrs. Anderson's work in marketing and communications. Mrs. Anderson will continue serving in this subcommittee.

Mr. Hendon and Lori Tubbergen Clark presented the following report on behalf of the Operations Subcommittee:

• The NCAPZ ended at \$93,000 under budget for 2020. Hendon commented that this is in NCAPZ's favor because there could be some volatility in the market in the next few years.

Newaygo County Area Promise Zone Authority Regular Meeting Minutes, November 10, 2020



- A potential MOU was created and are seeing approval of the draft from the full board later. This was something that should have already been in place and will make our long-term relationship with MCC official.
- Mrs. Obits will serve as the new chairperson for the Operations Subcommittee and will be a tremendous asset. Her work with student data and the actuarial analysis will make for a smooth transition.
- Dick Dunning has agreed to sit on our board. We are still looking to fill one more vacancy from the business sector.
- Carla Roberts will be resigning from the board and Kathy Pope has agreed to be the new representative from the Fremont Area Community Foundation. She will be inducted in February.

Dr. Tubbergen Clark shared that Mrs. Roberts has been a cheerleader for the Promise Zone from the very beginning. She used her force to expand opportunities, generously donated her staff in fundraising, and helped with a heavy lift to launch the Promise Zone. Her expanded reach into the donor community made an impactful mark, and as a result the Promise is making a very positive change as we continue to evolve with our college and career culture.

Mrs. Roberts thanked Chairperson Tubbergen Clark and the board for their service adding that being part of the Promise Zone is one of the achievements that she is most proud of during her time at the Community Foundation. She will help mentor Kathy Pope during her transition.

Action Items:

<u>MCC Fall 2020 Tuition</u>: Motion by Witter, supported by Tuuk, to approve the fall 2020 tuition invoice from Muskegon Community College totaling \$229,517.60. Roll Call Vote: Ayes –Swinehart, Rossler, Rumsey, Tuuk, VanSingel, Witter, Tubbergen Clark, Hendon, Anderson; Nays – None. Motion unanimously carried.

<u>MSU Fall 2020 Tuition</u>: Motion by Anderson, supported by VanSingel, to approve the Fall 2020 tuition invoice from Michigan State University totaling \$2,923.50. Roll Call Vote: Ayes –Swinehart, Rossler, Rumsey, Tuuk, VanSingel, Witter, Tubbergen Clark, Hendon, Anderson; Nays – None. Motion unanimously carried.

<u>Proposed MOU with MCC</u>: Motion by Anderson, supported by VanSingel, to approve the proposed Memorandum of Understanding with Muskegon Community College. An amendment was raised by Anderson and supported by VanSingel to include approval of minor changes to the proposed Memorandum of Understanding with MCC. Roll Call Vote: Ayes –Swinehart, Rossler, Rumsey, Tuuk, VanSingel, Witter, Tubbergen Clark, Hendon, Anderson; Nays – None. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion by Witter, supported by Hendon, to adjourn. Roll Call Vote: Ayes –Swinehart, Rossler, Rumsey, Tuuk, VanSingel, Witter, Tubbergen Clark, Hendon, Anderson; Nays – None. Motion unanimously carried.

Meeting adjourned at 12:13 pm.

Dr. Lori Tubbergen Clark, Chairperson

