

Newaygo County Area Promise Zone Authority Board Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, August 20, 2019 NC RESA Educational Services Center Board Room

Present: Dawn Anderson, Lori Tubbergen Clark, Jack Hendon, Holly Moon, Cathy Obits, Carla Roberts, Scott

Swinehart (arrived at 11:39 a.m.), Rebecca Tuuk, Don VanSingel, Steve Witter

Absent: Tom Boerger, Tim Rossler, Scott Rumsey

Visitors: Emily Truax (Recorder), Melissa Miller, Jodi Zerlaut

Chairperson Dr. Lori Tubbergen Clark called the meeting to order at 11:32 A.M.

Approval of the Agenda:

Motion by Moon, supported by Hendon, to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes – 7, Nays – 0. Motion unanimously carried.

Approval of Meeting Minutes:

Motion by Witter, supported by Tuuk, to approve the May 14, 2019 Regular Meeting Minutes as presented. Ayes – 7, Nays – 0. Motion unanimously carried.

Public Participation:

Dr. Tubbergen Clark opened the floor for any citizens who wished to address the board. There were no requests.

Dr. Steve Witter, Chair of the Fundraising Subcommittee, presented the following report:

The fundraising team is considering the capital campaign concluded. We have raised \$1,467,866 with \$66,173 in endowment. Dr. Tubbergen Clark assisted with the school employee campaign by distributing the payroll deduction form to Superintendents along with a video of Promise Scholars. Dr. Witter asked that board members consider giving monetarily.

Mrs. Holly Moon, Co-chair of the Marketing Subcommittee, presented the following report:

The Promise Zone was represented at several events including the Family Expo, Tools for Schools, and Kickstart meetings with teachers. Fremont and Newaygo Public Schools agreed to be the pilot schools to integrate the Promise Zone curriculum this year. Mrs. Moon attended the joint Promise Zone/We CAN/Kickstart meetings were collaboration was discussed. Carla Roberts and her team from FACF represented the Promise Zone at the National Baby Food Festival.

Mrs. Rebecca Tuuk, Chair of the Promise Success Initiative Subcommittee, presented the following report:

Planning and training for the Posse group program is underway. There is still a need for a few more leaders, who are required to pass a background check.

There were two mandatory briefings held, one in June, and another in August. Meetings next year will be scheduled for June and July. There were 135 students that were awarded the scholarship and only 58 attended the meetings. The Board of Directors provided clarity on a few pending appeal requests/eligibility requirements:

The 3.0 GPA is firm and no grace will be given for current appeals or future applications.

- Students in the Nursing and Respiratory Therapy program are approved to attend on a part-time basis in order to follow MCC's curriculum timeline. Nursing students will need to cover the last 3 of the 65 credits needed to complete their program.
- Students that did not attend the mandatory briefing will need to submit a request for a special meeting.
- Students that already have college credits when entering the Promise Zone are still eligible to receive the full 62 credits until they have completed their Associates Degree.



- Students only needed a few credits before graduating are automatically granted approval to attend part-time.
- Dr. Tubbergen Clark will inquire on students with medical issues and/or ADA accommodations with the NC RESA attorney and share her findings.

Mr. Jack Hendon, Chair of the Operations Subcommittee, presented the following report:

The NCAPZ received a clean opinion in their recent audit which was completed on time and submitted to the state. The audit rate will increase by \$100 next year.

NC RESA has graciously proposed to loan the NCAPZ an executive. The executive on-loan is an in-kind contribution from NC RESA however the Board of Directors may still give guidance in his/her duties and operations.

A proposed amendment to the by-laws requires that the Superintendent of NC RESA automatically becomes the Board of Directors Chairperson. This change was made to sustain the relationship between NC RESA and the Promise Zone to ensure our collaboration continues long-term.

Action Items:

<u>Payment of MCC/Baker Spring and Summer Semester</u> – Motion by Anderson supported by VanSingel to approve payment of \$33,215 to MCC and Baker for the spring and summer semesters. Ayes – 8, Nays – 0. Motion unanimously carried.

<u>Approval of Audit</u>— Motion by Tuuk, supported by Witter to approve the 2018 Newaygo Area Promise Zone audit. Ayes – 8, Nays – 0. Motion unanimously carried.

<u>Audit Firm for 2019</u>— Motion by Tuuk, supported by Swinehart, to approve Gabracht as the audit firm for 2019. Ayes – 8, Nays – 0. Motion unanimously carried.

<u>Executive On-Loan MOU</u>— Motion by Moon, supported by Hendon, to approve the MOU with Newaygo County RESA for the Executive On-Loan to the Newaygo County Area Promise Zone.

Dr. Tubbergen Clark abstained due to a conflict of interest. Ayes – 7, Nays – 0, Abstention – 1. Motion carried.

<u>By-laws Amendment</u> – Motion by Witter, supported by VanSingel to approve an amendment to the Newaygo County Area Promise Zone Bylaws to reflect that the Newaygo County RESA Superintendent will also serve as the Chairperson of the Newaygo County Area Promise Zone. Ayes – 8, Nays – 0. Motion unanimously carried.

<u>Budget Amendment</u> – Motion by Anderson, supported by Tuuk, to approve the budget amendment as presented. Ayes – 8, Nays – 0. Motion unanimously carried.

Information from Promise Zone Board Members:

Dr. Lori Tubbergen Clark and Melissa Miller, the new Executive On-Loan, will attend the MPZA meeting which will carry into a workshop to draft a year end appeal letter to donors.

Mrs. Moon asked how the property taxes were calculated and indicated that payment should be received in October. Mrs. Tuuk suggested to have the approved part-time nursing status on the Promise Zone website.

Motion by Witter, supported by Moon, to adjourn. Ayes – 8, Nays – 0. Motion unanimously carried.

| Meeting adjourned at 1:03 pm. | |
|---------------------------------------|---|
| | |
| Dr. Lori Tubbergen Clark, Chairperson | - |

